National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science was established in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals deserving special recognition for their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical or engineering sciences. Since its establishment, the National Medal of Science has been awarded to 506 distinguished scientists and engineers whose careers spanned decades of research and development.

Published on January 12th, 2017

Last updated on May 6th, 2020