Jayakanth Ravichandran Honored with TMS Young Leaders Award

| February 11, 2020

Ravichandran has been presented with the professional development award from the Functional Materials Division of The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society.

Jayakanth Ravichandran

Jayakanth Ravichandran, Assistant professor of chemical engineering and materials science.

Assistant professor of chemical engineering and materials science, Jayakanth Ravichandran has been recognized with a 2020 Young Leaders Professional Development Award from the Functional Materials Division of The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS).

The award supports young, professional members of TMS to enable them to advance in the field of materials science through participation in TMS activities. The professional development program offers leadership and networking opportunities and encourages participants to play an active role in the society.

Ravichandran said he was grateful and honored to receive the award.

“As a premier avenue to network and interact with materials scientists and engineers, this award will help me get more involved with the activities of TMS,” Ravichandran said. “I look forward to new opportunities and challenges, especially working with other members of FMD.”

“This award is an important encouragement for me to work towards my long term career goals and I appreciate this acknowledgement from TMS,” he said.

Ravichandran conducts research in physics, materials science, and applications of emerging complex materials. His research group’s focus includes growth of high quality materials such as complex oxide and chalcogenides in the bulk, and thin film form to study their transport and spectroscopic characteristics of these material systems.

Ravichandran received his B.Tech and M.Tech in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 2007. He obtained a PhD from University of California, Berkeley in 2011, and subsequently held post-doctoral positions at Columbia University and Harvard University. His previous accolades include the IIT Kharagpur Institute Silver Medal and the Link Energy Fellowship.



Published on February 11th, 2020

Last updated on February 11th, 2020

Share this Story