2018 Viterbi Master’s Student Awards

| May 11, 2018

Accomplishments of Viterbi Master’s students celebrated at the second annual event

Students at the 2018 Viterbi Masters Awards Dinner. Photo courtesy of Graduate & Professional Programs

The brilliance of the USC Viterbi School of Engineering was on full display Monday, April 30 at the Davidson Conference Center. Each award highlighted a unique example of the school’s mission to “enable the power of Engineering,” in service of California, the nation and the world.

For example, John Bello, Alejandro Lanuza Garcia and Ashik Thithira Achaiah of the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering, spent a year studying Ferrock, colloquially known as a “CO2 sponge,” an innovative sustainable alternative to cement, source of five percent of the world’s carbon dioxide emissions. The team of three representing New York, Madrid and India, were recipients of the Fleischer Prize in Green Technology, a competition founded in 2003 by internationally renowned Dr. Gerald Fleischer, President of the Engineering Faculty Council (1995-1997) at USC.

“Excellence in all the things we do, from research to service to commitment to development in mentoring, is an important part of the USC Viterbi School of Engineering,” said Dean Yannis C. Yortsos in his opening remarks.

Photos of the event can be found here.

Students at the 2018 Viterbi Masters Awards Dinner. Photo courtesy of Graduate & Professional Programs

This year’s awardees 

Academic Excellence Award

Rishi Malhan

Department of Astronautical Engineering

Rocket Scientist of the Year

Michael James Moruzzi

John Alexander Targonski

Department of Biomedical Engineering

Academic Excellence Award

Haoteng Tang

Department of Biomedical Engineering

Service Award

Miyuan Xu

Sonny Astani Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Research Award

Shiyang Huang

Service Award

Sierra Allegra

Department of Computer Science

Merit Award

Mishaal Aleem

Shoubhik Debnath

Osman Kaan

Arnout Devos

Yibo Ma

Sagar Patel

Sarya Ananya Pidkiti

Best Research Award

Daye Nam

Kaxuan Sun

Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering

Most Inspirational Student Award

Sophia Wolf

Most Outstanding Student Awards

Aparna Subbaraya

Daniel J. Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Student of the Year

Alana Archer

Ying Peng

Mork Family Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science 

Student Achievement Award

Tomas Guerra Aldazabal

Zhangzhengrong Justin Feng

Alexis Oyetibo

Henry Su

Fleischer Prize in Green Technology

John Bello

Alejandro Lanuza Garcia

Ashik Bopanna Thithira Achaiah

Outstanding Mentor Award

Priyambada Jain

Prakarsh Upmanyu

Quianhui Wu

Published on May 11th, 2018

Last updated on May 16th, 2024

Share this Story