Viterbi Awards


The Viterbi Awards recognizes outstanding members of the engineering community and our own alumni who have made lasting contributions to the field at large. For more information and to be included on our mailing list, please call Natalie Noravian at 213-740-9583.

Award History

Daniel J. Epstein Engineering Management Award

Portrait of Daniel J. Epstein in a dark suit, white shirt, and striped tie, with short white hair and glasses, smiling against a neutral gray background.

Daniel J. Epstein

The Engineering Management Award was founded in 1978 in tandem with the creation of the USC Viterbi School of Engineering Awards.  In 2002, the award was named in honor of a distinguished leader in industry management and USC engineering alumnus, Daniel J. Epstein.  The Daniel J. Epstein Engineering Management Award is presented to an industry leader in recognition of his or her exemplary professional accomplishments and in acknowledgement of his exceptional contributions to the field of engineering management.

2024 Julie Brown, Universal Display Corporation

2023 Scott Willoughby, Northrop Grumman
2022 Steve Isakowitz, The Aerospace Corporation
2020/21 General Ellen Pawlikowski, Retired
United States Air Force
2019 Gwynne Shotwell, SpaceX
2018 Darlene Solomon, Agilent Technologies
2017 Harel Kodesh, GE Digital
2016 Thomas E. Vice, Northrop Grumman
2015 Andrew Liveris, Dow
2014 Al Dorman, AECOM
2013 Elon Musk, Tesla Motors and Space Exploration Technologies
2012 John C. Martin, Gilead Sciences
2011 Ronald N. Tutor, Tutor Perini Corporation
2010 John Dionisio, AECOM
2009 Narayana Murthy, Infosys
2008 Patrick Soon-Shiong, M.D., Abraxis Bioscience
2007 Carol Bartz, Autodesk
2006 David J. O'Reilly, Chevron
2005 Yang Ho Cho, Korean Air
2004 Philip M. Condit, Boeing
2003 Ronald Sugar, Northrop Grumman

2002 Jen-Hsun Huang, NVIDIA
2001 Jozef Straus, JDS Uniphase
2000 Irwin M. Jacobs, Qualcomm
1999 Alfred E. Mann, MannKind Corporation
1998 Craig R. Barrett, Intel
1997 Daniel S. Goldin, NASA
1996 Kent Kresa, Northrop Grumman
1995 Joseph Jacobs, Jacobs Engineering Group
1994 Daniel Tellep, Lockheed Corporation
1993 Edsel Dunford, TRW
1992 Richard Stegemeier, Unocal Corporation
1991 Frank A. Shrontz, Boeing
1990 Ruben F. Mettler, TRW
1989 Lawrence O. Kitchen, Lockheed Corporation
1988 George Keller, Chevron
1987 John A. Young, Hewlett-Packard
1986 W.J. Sanders, Advanced Micro Devices
1985 Donald A. Hicks, Northrop Grumman
1984 Malcom R. Currie, TRW
1983 William R. Gould, Southern California Edison
1982 Fred O'Green
, Litton Industries
1981 Fred Hartley, Unocal Corporation
1979 Simon Ramo, TRW
1978 Allen E. Puckett, Hughes Aircraft

Mark A. Stevens Distinguished Alumni Award

Portrait of Mark A. Stevens wearing a dark pinstripe suit, white shirt, and a blue patterned tie, with short grayish-brown hair, smiling against a white background.

Mark A. Stevens

The Distinguished Alumni Award was founded in 1978 in tandem with the creation of the USC Viterbi School of Engineering Awards.  In 2004, the award was named in honor of a distinguished engineer, entrepreneur, venture capitalist and USC engineering alumnus, Mark A. Stevens.  The Mark A. Stevens Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to a Viterbi Alumnus or Alumna in recognition of their exemplary professional accomplishments and in acknowledgement of his exceptional contributions to the field of engineering.

2024 Augustine Esogbue
2023 Sharon Walker
2022 Ayanna Howard
2020/21 Juan Perez
2019 Linnie Haynesworth
2018 Terry Adams
2017 Lt. Gen. Stayce Harris
2016 Bryan B. Min
2015 Feng Deng
2014 Wanda Austin
2013 Debra Reed
2012 Alan J. Fohrer
2011 Orna Berry, Ph.D.
2010 Charles F. Bolden Jr.
2009 Tom Reed
2008 Kathy Crothall
2007 Sonny Astani
2006 Ming Hsieh
2005 Kenneth C. Dahlberg
2004 Kenneth Klein
2003 John Mork
2002 Xiaofan "Simon" Cao
2001 James J. Keenan
2000 Cyrus Y. Tsui
1999 Mark A. Stevens
1998 Gordon M. Anderson
1997 D. Kenneth Richardson
1996 Marvin S. Stone
1995 Marie (La Fond) Knowles
1994 Daniel J. Epstein
1993 Stephen C. Lipman
1992 John F. Shea
1991 James W. Colachis
1990 Gregg E. Brandow
1989 Edgar S. Brower
1988 M.C. Gill
1987 Richard S. Farr
1986 Andrew J. Viterbi
1985 Harold W. Dornsife
1984 Robert D. Eaglet
1983 A.C. Markkula, Jr.
1982 George Brandow and Roy Johnson
1981 Robert F. Bauer
1979 William Atteberry
1978 Edward Fox

Global Leadership in Engineering Award

The Global Leadership in Engineering Award was established in 2011. The standard of accomplishment and excellence required to receive this award is reserved for only the most distinguished of individuals who have made noteworthy and worldwide impacts. The selection criteria is consistent and outstanding professional achievement and contributions to the field of engineering on a global scale.

Past Recipients
2017 William Wang
2016 Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
2015 Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al-Jaber
2014 Kenneth Koo
2011 Chengyu Fu

Engineering Influencer Award

2020/21 Geena Davis

Distinguished Service Award

2024 The Powell Foundation
2023 Allen & Charlotte Ginsburg
2022 Jim Baum
2009 Donald Paul
2007 Karl Weiss
1991 Ronald Tutor
1988 Anthony Lazzaro

Distinguished Alumni Award in Academia

2007  Steven DenBaars 
2006  Nan Marie Jokerst
2005  Michael Pursley
2004  A.V. “Bal” Balakrishnan
2003  Robert Gray 
2002  Alice Gast

Centennial Medallion

2006 Steven B. Sample

Lifetime Achievement Award

2023 Leonard Silverman
2019 C.D. "Dan" Mote, Jr.
2018 A.C. “Mike” Markkula
2012 Alfred Mann
2010 Steven B. Sample
2008 Simon Ramo

Exceptional Academic Achievement Award

2012 Sol Golomb

Entrepreneurship in Engineering Award

2013 Fariborz Maseeh

Published on May 19th, 2017

Last updated on June 20th, 2024