Sheldon Ross Wins 2024 TAA Textbook Award

| March 29, 2024

Introduction to Probability Models was honored with the McGuffey Longevity Award from the Textbook and Academic Authors Association.

Sheldon Ross

Daniel J. Epstein Chair and Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering Sheldon Ross.

Daniel J. Epstein Chair and Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering Sheldon Ross has been recognized by the leading group for authors of textbooks, scholarly journal articles and books, the Textbook and Academic Authors Association (TAA).

Ross has been awarded a 2024 TAA William Holmes McGuffey Longevity Award for his textbook Introduction to Probability Models, which was first published in 1972. The textbook has been used extensively by professionals and in undergraduate courses in applied probability.

The McGuffey Longevity Award recognizes textbooks and learning materials whose excellence has been demonstrated over time. To be nominated, a work must have been in print for 15 years and still be selling. The prize is named after William Holmes McGuffey, whose influential primers were widely used as textbooks in American schools from the mid-19th century and remained in print until 1921.

Ross received his B. S. degree in Mathematics from Brooklyn College in 1963. He received his M.S. degrees in mathematics from Purdue University in 1964 and his Ph.D. degree in statistics from Stanford University in 1968.

Ross served as a Professor at the University of California, Berkeley from 1976 until joining USC in 2004. He also serves as the editor for Probability in the Engineering and Informational Sciences, the advisory editor for the International Journal of Quality Technology and Quantitative Management, and an editorial board member of the Journal of Bond Trading and Management. Ross is the author of Introduction to Mathematical Finance: Options and Other Topics, Simulation, A First Course in Probability, Probability Models for Computer Science, and many more titles, articles and reports.

The award will be presented at the TAA Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 26th, 2024.

Published on March 29th, 2024

Last updated on March 29th, 2024

Share This Story